Home - Commissions - Nomadic Peoples / About / Current chair

Current CNP Chair

Portrait of Ariell AhearnAriell Ahearn is currently the Course Director of the MSc/MPhil in Nature, Society and Environmental Governance at the School for Geography and the Environment at the University of Oxford.

Since 2004, Ariell has worked extensively in rural Mongolia with mobile pastoralist communities around land use and rural development issues.


Former CNP Chairs

Portrait of Elliot FratkinElliot Fratkin (2014-2018)

2018 Statement [PDF]
2017 Statement [PDF]
2016 Statement [PDF]
2016 Letter from Chair [PDF]


Portrait of Dawn ChattyDawn Chatty (1999-2013)

July 2013 Statement
July 2012 Statement 
August 2009 Statement 
March 2008 Statement 
Original Statement 

Michael Casimir and Aparna Rao (1994-1998)

Final Report on the Working of the Commission

Philip Carl Salzman

Philip Carl Salzman (1978-1993)

Final Report on the Working of the Commission