Task Forces

Social Media Task Force

The WCAA Social Media Task Force designed a digital impact strategy that seeks to concentrate and amplify information related to the anthropologies of the world.

We curate content about academic activities (congresses, seminars, workshops), new publications (books, journals), videos, blog entries and essays in similar digital platforms, and information relevant to anthropology and social sciences. If you want to share information, please send an e-mail to


Michel Bouchard

 Jermaine Gordon 

Cristhian Fernando Caje Rodríguez

Ricardo Fagoaga

Making Anthropology Global Task Force

This task force will

a)    Examine the stances of anthropologists in different societies around the world towards Anglo-American hegemony: how does the situation differ among anthropologists in different regions?

b)   More broadly, examine the comparative situation of anthropologists in different societies around the world

c)    Suggest possible solutions to the comparative issues faced by anthropologists.


Yasmeen Arif

Chen Gang

Gonzalo Diaz Crovetto
Thomas Hylland Eriksen
P-J Ezeh
Gordon Mathews
Shannon Morreira
Kuwayama Takami

WCAA Ethics Task Force

The World Council of Anthropological Associations Ethics Task Force is an international body established in 2012 to highlight important issues that relate to ethics and anthropology. 

It aims to review ethics guidelines with other associations for recommendation for the WCAA and develop research areas for further enquiries. Based on this body of evidence, the task is to make recommendations as to how WCAA might proceed. The aim is not to develop a universal set of guidelines but point out main issues that emerge and how they may be productively negotiated.

The WCAA Ethics Task Force is intent on defending the autonomy and integrity of anthropology for representation at large/state or university committees, and to participate in regional, national and international committees or organizations where required.


Eufracio Abaya 

Elisenda Ardevol

Shao-hua Liu

Nayanika Mookherjee

Soumendra Patnaik

Fiona Ross

Clara Saraiva

Rosita Henry

WCAA Global Cultural Policies Task Force

The WCAA Global Cultural Policies Task Force was founded at the WCAA Biennial Meeting in Dubrovnik (2-3 May 2016) with the task of coordinating transnational activities of the WCAA member associations related to cultural policies.

The initial aim was to outline a set of principles according to which policies that would benefit inter-cultural relations (primarily between different ethnic and religious groups) could be designed. Some of these principles would be treated as universal, while others would accommodate specific multi-cultural nation state contexts. The task force seeks to facilitate case studies of both successful and unsuccessful practices coming out of anthropological and other social science accounts that could serve as the basis for general and specific frameworks of policy action.

It also has the further aim of developing channels of communication through which political decision-makers at different levels could be reached directly or indirectly in order to convey recommendations for fostering positive and equitable cultural policies.


Greg Acciaioli

 Lia Ferrero

Lorne Holyoak

Shu-min Huang

Shao-hua Liu

Cynthia Neri Zayas

Idham Setiadi

Vesna Vucinic Neskovic

Academic Precarity Task Force

This Task Force aim is to found a common ground for discussions and action on the issue of academic precarity. Its establishment in 2021 is the outcome of a series of discussions and initiatives developed since 2016 in the context of the IUAES, WCAA and EASA congresses and meetings.

One of its objectives is to create an Observatory of academic precarity. This will be designed as a platform for conversations on the experiences, meanings, and tensions of academic precarity in different national, regional or international contexts of the anthropological associations. The topics of ethics of research, hiring and autorship as well as the cyclical short-term logic of academic research will be equally addressed. More than ever, there is an urgent need to envision concrete action, on both political and institutional levels, in response to a pervasive process of precarization and to take concrete measures to put an end to this process. In order to create synergies, the Task Force will actively collaborate with national and regional associations, as well as collectives, in the systematization of data, promotion of public debates and sharing of experiences.


Maria Debinska
Ana Ivasiuc PrecAnthro liaison
Ana Leticia de Fiori
Soumodip Sinha


Georgeta Stoica

Vinicius Kaue Ferreira

Harrasment on Academy Task Force

The WCAA meeting in Vancouver created a working group to deal with the difficult issue of moral and physical harassment in academia.

The working group was proposed by Patricia Castañeda Salgado (CEAS president, Mexico) and Maria Filomena Gregori (ABA president, Brasil). Michel Bouchard, Secretary of WCAA.


Maria Filomena Gregori
Michel Bouchard


Marta Patricia Castañeda Salgado

WCAA’s Editorial Group.

The WCAA’s Editorial Group (EG) was created in 2020 with the purpose of managing WCAA publications, as well as proposing new types of publication and improving the promotion of existing ones.

The principal aim of the EG is to disseminate the world’s anthropological work. The EG facilitates, promotes and encourages publication of articles and special sections in open access journals whether of the WCAA, of its member associations, or elsewhere, respecting the guidelines of the journals involved.

It is also a goal of the EG to transform content from WCAA webinars and interviews into outright publications, and to collaborate with the francophone dictionary/project Anthropen and other publications wanting to connect to the WCAA, and that have been approved by the Organising Committee of the WCAA. The EG also suggests principles and well-regarded processes for the editors of journals around the world. The EG is currently composed of Michel Bouchard, Virginia Dominguez, Ricardo Fagoaga, Monica Heller, Gordon Mathews, Emily Metzner, and Carmen Rial (Chair of the EG).

Emily Metzner
Carmen Silvia de Moraes Rial
Gordon Mathews
Michel Bouchard
Monica Heller
Virginia R. Dominguez
Ricardo A. Fagoaga
This site uses cookies. For more information about cookies and how we handle user data please consult our privacy policy.